What Time Does The Russia Sochi 2014 Winter Olympic Opening Ceremony Start?

***UPDATE***

You can follow the Sochi 2014 Olympic Opening Ceremony live on Twitter with many hashtags listed below including #openingceremony and #sochi2014. However, if you live in the United States or other parts of the world you can see a tape delayed presentation of the Opening Ceremony on NBC tonight, Feb 7 2014, in prime time.

Coverage for the NBC prime time showing of the Sochi Opening Ceremony starts at 7:30 p.m. ET, 6:30 p.m. CT, 5:30 p.m. MT, and 4:30 p.m. PT.

This will not be a live event; it is a tape delayed viewing of the Opening Ceremony which started in real time at 11:00 a.m. ET in the United States.

Will the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympic Opening Ceremony be broadcast in the morning or evening in the United States and the other parts of North and South America? The show is being broadcast in the evening on NBC primetime via tape delay.

In the United States the XXII Olympic Winter Games officially begins with Russia Sochi 2014 Winter Olympic Opening Ceremony which will starts at 11:00 a.m. ET on Friday, February 2014 in the United States. 

Follow the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympic Opening Ceremony on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Google Plus, Tumbr., Vine, Tout, Gawker and Twitter Photos and Mobile with the following hashtags:

opening ceremony sochi social media

#openingceremony

 

#olympicopeningceremony

 

#sochi2014

 

#winterolympics

 

#ceremony

 

For viewers in the United States Sochi is 9 hours ahead in Eastern Time when you start to consider your time conversions. The opening ceremony in Russia, Sochi  starts on Friday 07th February 2014 at 20:00 using the 24 hour time which translates into 8:00 p.m.

So here is a breakdown of the time zones in the United States which includes what time does the Sochi 2014 Olympic ceremony start in your time zone:

  • Eastern Time: 11:00 a.m.
  • Central Time: 10:00 a.m.
  • Mountain Time: 9:00 a.m.
  • Pacific Time: 8:00 a.m.
  • Alaska: 7:00 a.m.
  • Hawaii: 6:00 a.m.
  • Samoa: 5:00 a.m.
  • Atlantic: 12:00 p.m.
  • Chamorro: 2:00 a.m. February 8th, 2014

What channel will the ceremony be broadcast on in the United States? NBC will be broadcasting the Opening Ceremony along with the major competitive events throughout the Olympics with NBC’s sister channels showing some of the remaining events. NBC will also for the first time begin broadcasting the 2014 Sochi Olympics on Feb. 6th a day before the Opening Ceremony.

Get the complete NBC Olympic broadcast schedule from their website nbcolympics In the United Kingdom the Opening Ceremony is scheduled to begin at 16:00 which translates to 4:00 p.m. on February 7th, 2014.  

Here is a breakdown of more time conversions across the world for the Russia Sochi 2014 Olympic Opening Ceremony in 24 hour periods.

  • Tokyo 1:00
  • Sydney 3:00
  • India 21:30
  • France 17:00
  • Sao Paulo 14:00
  • Chicago 10:00
  • Los Angeles 8:00
  • Alaska 7:00
  • Hawaii 6:00

You can watch the Olympic Ceremonies live on BBC1 or get 3D coverage on BBC HD. Now this article covers mostly the United State and England Time Zone areas.  For other countries around the world you can use the Time Zone Converter to easily convert the Russia Sochi starting time of 20:00 in your specific area. It’s a simple script; to start using it try the following instructions out:

  • select “use the following time/date”
  • choose the date February 7th, 2014
  • select the time 8:00 p.m. Be sure to select p.m. to get a p.m or a.m. conversion.  24 hours will give you the correct 24 hour time.
  • then select from time zone GMT+4 (time zone in Sochi)
  • finally scroll down and select “to time zone”
  • select your countries time zone

click the red “Convert Time Now” button.

Be sure to check with your local area network for actual live broadcast times just to make sure there is no delay in the Opening Ceremony.

Also be sure to verify the TV coverage in your country and area that will be broadcasting the Opening Ceremonies live as well. What if you don’t have television access? You can always take to the Internet to fill this void by following the Olympic Opening Ceremony on Facebook or Twitter using the hashtags listed above for the opening Russia Sochi 2014 Olympic Opening Ceremony.

This is especially effective if your away from your home which will be the case for many people in the Western hemisphere. Check out this worldtimezone interactive time conversion for more details on times and event times for the XXII Olympic Winter Games.

No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment